Tuesday, November 07, 2006

Too Good To Be True

Hi guys I don't know what you think about it. But my gut tells me it's a hoax...

Check out these auctions on Ebay:
EMS Synthi AKS
EMS Synthi Sequencer 256

Come on, first of all I had seen the pictures and write-ups on some other genuine auctions. Second, this guy is from China? Third no selling history... And lastly he is selling an EMS synthi AKS and EMS Synthi Sequencer 256 each at buy-it-now price of USD$330? I don't know if this is for real... any ideas? I suspect it's a hoax.


tychomusic said...

ummmm, yeah, they're both hoaxes. Sadly, this ispretty common on the bay. I myself have had pictures from auctions I posted and that ended used in totally unrelated auctions with ridiculously low buy it now prices. Rules of thumb:

1. Check feedback for other synth/audio-related auctions. Many times these people will hijack legit accounts with high feedback. So if the last 5 auctions in their history were for baby strollers and a set of car tires, it's probably not the real owner of the account who posted an auction for a Sequential T-8 all the sudden.

2. If the buy it now price sounds too good to be true, it is. Anyone with enough sense to get digital photos taken, upload them, start an ebay account and create an auction, probably also has enough sense to know that an EMS synthi is worth a shade more than $300usd.

3. Do an google image search for the synth in question. Often times these idiots just snag photos from synth history sites and use them. Unfortuneately, ebay's auction history is ridiculously short, so you can't really go back to far to see if they are using images from previous legitimate auctions.

4. If anywhere in the auction it says "don't use the ebay contact form. Email me at xxx@xxx.com to work out the sale" don't touch it, it's a hijacked account.

5. Just be smart and don't let greed get in the way of good decision making....You're never getting an Oberheim 4 voice in mint condition for $580, so get over it and look for a real auction.

SonicBrat said...

Yeah man. Thanks for the ebaying tip! I was like what-da.... when I saw the auction... Lucky for me I had seen a post by Matrixsynth before on the auctions (Thanks Matrixsynth!)... and went to search for that particular auction and found it. They are not hoax for fun... they are hoaxes to cheat other people's hard earned money!!! I emailed the seller and even got a reply back giving me shipping infos and stuffs... Hillarious...

Thanks again on sharing and hope no one got cheated by it!

Dave said...

Seller is no longer a registered user... ayep.

Chamomile Shark said...

I don't think it is genuine either. There's an interesting bit in Peter Forrest's A-Z of Analogue Synths (last page) where he talks about a chinese synth apparently copied from the Roland 100M with the story that chinese manufacturers got in touch with J. M Jarre to ask him for the recipe for such a synth. If you look at the China Concerts lp cover you will see an EMS on the posters..so you might have expected them to want to copy that.